24 Illinois schools recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools

24 Illinois schools recognized as National Blue Ribbon Schools. (File)

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos Monday recognized twenty-four Illinois schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2018. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“I'm pleased to celebrate with you as your school is named a National Blue Ribbon School,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees. “We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives. Congratulations on your students' accomplishments and for your extraordinary commitment to meeting their unique needs.”

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content.

Now in its 36th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,800 schools. On November 7 and 8, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with all honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

All schools are honored in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates:

Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s subgroups and all students over the past five years.

Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The Department invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity and the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by The Council for American Private Education (CAPE).

Aviston Elementary School - Aviston

Butterfield Elementary School - Lombard

Cardinal Joseph Bernardin Catholic School- Orland Hills

Edison Regional Gifted Center - Chicago

Evergreen Elementary School - Carol Stream

George Washington Elementary School - Park Ridge

Giant City Community Consolidated School District 130 - Carbondale

Gwendolyn Brooks College Preparatory Academy - Chicago

Hickory Creek Middle School - Frankfort

Hynes Elementary School - Morton Grove

Libertyville High School - Libertyville

Meridian School - Buffalo Grove

Naperville North High School - Naperville

Parkview Elementary School - Columbia

Peoria Christian High School - Peoria

Proviso Math And Science Academy - Forest Park

Queen Of All Saints School - Chicago

Sacred Heart School - Winnetka

Saint Bede Elementary School - Ingleside

Saint Francis de Sales School - Lake Zurich

Saint Francis Xavier School - Wilmette

Saint Therese Chinese Catholic School - Chicago

South Park Elementary School - Deerfield

Tremont Elementary School - Tremont

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off