Evan Clark named Big Ten Coach of the Year as Jaclyn Switkes is 1st Team All-Big Ten

Evan Clark is the first Illinois Big Ten Coach of the Year in women's tennis since 1987

It has been quite the season for Illinois women's tennis. The Fighting Illini in the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2012.

Head Coach Evan Clark earning Big Ten Coach of the Year honors in the process. He is proud of the strides the program has made over the last few seasons.

"We've gotta keep in perspective we were 50 or 60th in the country last year and now we're inside the top 20." said Clark. "It's been a good day for us, a great couple days. We had the Big Ten Tournament, the banquet last night celebrating all our accomplishments, (the selection show) is just the icing on the cake for us with what this team has done this year."

The team earning a pair of accolades in the Big Ten today. Junior Jacklyn Switkes named 1st Team All-Big Ten. This is the first All Conference honor of her career.

Evan Clark just the second coach from Illinois to be named Big Ten Coach of the Year and the first since 1987.

Yesterday's selection show viewing party was an exciting time for the program as the Illini found out they will be heading to Texas Tech to face Princeton, snapping their 5 year NCAA Tournament drought.

"Just seeing everybody getting so excited for our success and just knowing we're making a difference for this program. It's an unbelievable feeling and we just want to make everyone at Illinois proud." said Switkes.

The first round of the NCAA Tournament begins on Friday, May 11.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off