Illini Update: Illinois sees 3 nominees to CFB Hall of Fame and qualify 2 for the US Open

Dylan Meyer qualifies for the US Open on June 14-17

Three Illinois football greats on the ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2019.

Moe Gardner - Defensive Tackle

Gardner was a 2x First Team All-American and the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year in 1990

Kevin Hardy - Linebacker

Hardy was a 1995 Butkus Award Winner and a First Team All-American

Simeon Rice - Linebacker

Rice was a 2x First Team All-American and the Big Ten and Illinois record holder with 44.5 career sacks

The Class of 2019 will be announced ahead of the National Championship game on January 19 in Santa Clara, California


US Open Qualifying Rounds

Springfield Country Club (Springfield, Ohio)

Dylan Meyer - 2nd place (-4)


Ridgeway Country Club/Colonial Country Club (Memphis, Tennessee)

Steve Stricker - Tied for 2nd (-10)


Both golfers qualify for the US Open at Shinnecock Hills Golf Course in New York on June 14-17

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off